AMEC Hands Out Awards at Annual Departmental Picnic

On April 27, 2017, on a beautiful Mississippi evening, AMEC and Cobb faculty, staff, and students gathered to celebrate the end of another academic year with a potluck picnic sponsored by the Anthropology Club. The gathering also provided an opportunity to recognize our best and brightest with annual awards. Congratulations to all the winners!

The Jean W. Marcus Undergraduate Achievement Award, given annually to the AMEC undergraduate major with combined highest GPA and overall best record of academic achievement in anthropology.  Reed Miller

The Joe D. Seger Award for Staff Excellence, given annually to the AMEC or Cobb staff member who best exemplifies professional excellence in service to the department or institute. Kathy Elliott and Debbie Vickers

The Paul F. Jacobs Award for Best Applied Anthropology Master’s Thesis, given annually in recognition of the AMEC Master’s thesis that best represents completion of a rigorous, data-driven, applied-anthropological research project.  Michelle Davenport

The Janet Rafferty “True Grit” Faculty Award, given annually to the junior faculty member who best exemplifies the grit and determination characteristic of Emerita Professor Dr. Janet Rafferty.  Shane Miller

The Richard Marshall Memorial Annual Scholarship, given each year to a rising junior or senior anthropology major committed to pursuing a career in archaeology.  Hayden Manning

The Janet Rafferty Fund for Archaeological Survey, given each year to support a student participating in the archaeological survey field school. Bryce Krumcke